I connected to Ernie Zelinski on LinkedIn

Yesterday I connected to Ernie Zelinski on LinkedIn! Ernie Zelinski is a Canadian writer who mostly writes about how great it is to be self-employed. I have translated his book, Real success without a real job, into Russian (Russian edition, Успех без офисного рабства). He sings praises (overdoing it a little, that was my first impression) to being self-employed. While working on the translation, I was sceptical at first about the whole point because at the time I was an employee of a certain three-letter-acronym-named global corporation and thought my position to be very stable, safe and much better than precarious situation of self-employment. However, I was fired after 1 year (that’s a separate story, I told it at FAILcamp Toronto and may sometime repeat it here) and recalled Ernie’s praises to self-employment. I thought, screw it, I’m fed up with software development altogether. By that time I had several books in my translation already published (Ernie’s was my 4th, if I am not much mistaken; I have 6 now and 3 more in the works). 2 days later I responded to an ad at proz.com and started freelance translation of user documentation of the abovementioned corporation-who-must-not-be-named into Russian. About a year later I entered Canadian government’s SEB program for small business development. Everything was so ridiculously easy that I am still amazed. The only catch is, I am not very good at managing my time, so my routine work (mostly translating software manuals and writing SR&ED claims) tends to crawl all over the day, and I am somewhat behind schedule with my literary translations (currently, Iris Murdoch‘s “Philosopher’s Pupil”). But I hope I’ll learn to manage my time better in the future (kaizen!)

P.S. I definitely owe Ernie a lunch in a restaurant of his choice. I’ll never ever have to sit in a cubicle for the rest of my life!

One Response to “I connected to Ernie Zelinski on LinkedIn”

  1. My 10-minute presentation « Tania Samsonova’s Blog Says:

    […] by major Russian publishers. You can see one of them here, it is a book written by a Canadian, Ernie Zelinski. Besides, I studied technical writing in a major Canadian university and acquired solid […]


Leave a Reply

